The von Hofen Scholarship

Established in 2006, three brothers who graduated from Ohio State University’s Agricultural Technical Institute created the annual scholarship for ATI turfgrass management students. Eric (1992), Nick(1999) and Kurt (2002) who all work in the golf course management field started the von Hofen Turfgrass Scholarship for a student at the school majoring in turfgrass management.

We really wanted to give back, we all went to school there, and we always wanted to work with some of the turf students. My brothers are also superintendents, Nick is the superintendent at Collier’s Reserve Country Club in Naples, Fl and Kurt is the Superintendent at El Camaleon Mayakoba in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico.

Kurt says that “ When he attended Ohio State he did not receive any scholarship, so summer jobs were his source college funding and resume building. After graduating from Ohio State ATI and becoming one of the alumni family, you realize how many people in the business are at your fingertips to help you. Hopefully the students will realize to take the initiative and go for it and the scholarship is there to start that process”.

The Scholarship recipients must be a U.S. resident, a first or second year turf student at Ohio STate and have a grade point average of 3.0 or better. The scholarship’s advantages aren’t limited only to students in their field financial support. The involvement with us also opens up the opportunities of advancing their careers for the students during and after graduation.

Nick says that” This scholarship is rewarding on so many different levels. We are focused on helping students pursue their career goals and strive for academic excellence. We look forward to giving out scholarship each year”. I really feel that this gives us a lot of access to students and try and help them out, weather it’s an internship with one of us or a job after they graduate. The following students have been awarded the scholarship:

Zachary J. White                        2006-2007          Brookfield, Ohio
Charles J. Spreng                    2007-2008            Loudonville, Ohio
Christopher I. Thatcher            2008-2009          Amherst, Ohio
Kasey Miller                               2009-2010            Lewisburg, Ohio
Matthew Wise                            2010-2011          Columbiana, Ohio
Jake Halak                                 2011-2012           Lebanon, Ohio
Ryan Shafer 2012-2013 Kenton, Ohio
Matt Wagner 2013-2014 Elyria, Ohio

Eric with The Ohio State University’s former President Gordon Gee in Miami, Florida 2013

Eric, Coach Tressel, Nick and Kurt von Hofen

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline